Homemade Macaroni and Cheese (Eggless)

A cozy, gooey meal. A favorite of creatures young and old. Macaroni & Cheese.

mac and cheese

Here’s what you need:

  • pasta, 3 cups dry
  • butter, 4 tablespoons
  • flour, 4 tablespoons
  • milk, 3 cups
  • cheddar cheese (or other), 1 cup or as much as you like!
  • salt, 2 teaspoons
  • paprika, 2 teaspoons
  • cayenne pepper, a pinch
  • black pepper, 1 tablespoon

Bake at 350˚F for 20-25 minutes.

whole wheat elbow macaroni

  • Set the pasta to boil until al dente, as it will continue to cook in the oven later. I like to use whole wheat elbow macaroni.

cheddar cheese

  • Next, shred/chop your cheddar cheese so it’ll be ready for use later on.

mac and cheese butter flour

  • In a large saucepan, on medium heat, melt the butter. When the butter is melted add the flour and stir until well incorporated.

mac and cheese milk

  • Let it cook for a few minutes, making sure to keep stirring to prevent burning and sticking.
  • Next, pour in the milk. For 3 cups of pasta, I usually put 3 cups (or more) of milk, because I like my mac and cheese really creamy. You can adjust the pasta to cream ratio as you like. Cook until mixture starts to thicken and reduce heat to low.
  • (At this point, you can add about a half cup of shredded cheese (extra) to the sauce and stir until it’s fully melted. I don’t do this because I find that it doesn’t make much of a difference to taste of the sauce, so I just add the cheese at the very end, just before I bake the mac&cheese. This way you get all the cheesyness but save yourself a few calories.)

mac and cheese spices

  • Now add: salt, paprika, cayenne pepper and black pepper. I love paprika. I’m sure I end up putting way more than 2 teaspoons, but I don’t measure this part, I just throw it in. Also don’ t be shy with the black pepper, it goes incredibly well in this dish.

mac and cheese sauce

  • Once you’ve added the spices, let the mixture cook for a few minutes until the flavors merry and you have a nice, thick, rich and creamy sauce.

mac and cheese pasta sauce

  • Next get a medium sized dish and pour in you pasta. Add the sauce and mix it all together, making sure all the pasta is covered in the creamy goodness.

  • Spread it out nice and add as much shredded cheese(s) as you fancy on top. You can either leave it like this and bake or give it all a little mix so the cheese is somewhat incorporated into the pasta.
  • Bake at 350˚F for 20-25 minutes or until the cheese bubbles and starts to slightly brown.

mac and cheeseEnjoy!

mac and cheese empty plate

10 responses to “Homemade Macaroni and Cheese (Eggless)

  1. Pingback: Mac ‘n’ Cheese and Microwave Peanut Butter Fudge | a cougar in the kitchen·

  2. That’s how I make mine, too, except I mix in the cheese. I’m going to try putting it on the top next time! Also, thx for checking out my blog…

Leave a Reply

