Whole Wheat Thin Crust Pizzas

From time to time I make pizza at home. I barely buy it anymore, because homemade just tastes better. Also it’s automatically healthier. I have been trying to improve my homemade pizzas little by little by making my own whole wheat pizza dough and choosing healthier ingredients as toppings. Next on my list for improving my pizzas, is to eventually make my own special pizza tomato sauce.

whole wheat crust pizza

Today I’m sharing with you two different pizza topping combinations. One is a traditional style pizza, which is not the healthiest pizzas of all, but the ingredients are fresh, used in moderation and vegetables are thrown into the mix. The other one is a quite a healthy pizza, using feta cheese instead of cheddar. I highly recommend making your own pizza. It’s very easy once you have a good recipe for the crust. From then on, you can throw on it any toppings that tickle your fancy.

For these pizzas I used this whole wheat pizza dough recipe, for a nice thin and crispy crust. I cut the ball of dough in half because I wanted to make 2 thin crust pizzas.

Once your dough is ready to go…

whole wheat crust pizza

Roll each piece of dough out thin…

whole wheat crust pizza

Place it on a greased baking sheet… and throw on it anything and everything you want!

whole wheat crust pizza

On this pizza:

  • olive oil (to brush on top of the pizza, in place of tomato sauce)
  • feta cheese
  • tomatoes
  • red bell peppers
  • orange bell peppers
  • pimento stuffed olives

whole wheat crust pizza

whole wheat crust pizza

On this pizza:

  • tomato sauce
  • cheddar cheese
  • red bell peppers
  • orange bell peppers
  • pimento stuffed olives
  • chipotle sausage

whole wheat crust pizza

Bake both at 350˚F for about 15-20 minutes, until the crusts are nice and golden.

whole wheat crust pizza

These pizzas were delicious and very satisfying. Go and make yourself one now! And, yes…they were both gone by the end of the night.

8 responses to “Whole Wheat Thin Crust Pizzas

  1. Pingback: Whole Wheat Pizza Dough | the Goodie Plate·

  2. I totally agree with you – homemade pizza is definitely tastier and healthier! And I love making my own crust. Yours looks delicious – I’m going to add this whole wheat crust recipe to my list of items to try.

Leave a Reply

