Healthy Vegan Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

healthy vegan oatmeal chocolate chip cookies

I got this recipe from here! This recipe is definitely one you want to hold on to if you’ve got a sweet tooth like mine, but don’t want to load your body with sugar every time you have a craving for something sweet. The first thing I do when I find a new recipe is look at the amount of sugar used. This recipe didn’t have any sugar! What a relief that was. Now, there are chocolate chips in this recipe, but you can take those out…if you must. I need my dose of chocolate.

healthy vegan oatmeal chocolate chip cookies

I changed a couple of things. I was out of maple syrup, so I used honey instead. And since I used honey, I added in an extra tablespoon of oil for more moistness. I added vegetable oil. I didn’t add more olive oil because I didn’t want the cookies to take on an olive oil taste. Although if you’re trying to be really healthy, I’m sure you could just use olive oil and you wouldn’t be able to tell. Also, instead of using applesauce, I used pureed apple.

healthy vegan oatmeal chocolate chip cookies

This cookie is loaded with flavor. The party in your mouth will involve the presence of tahini, cinnamon, walnuts, and chocolate. The rolled oats really help to keep the flavors grounded to not overwhelm you, but to delight you.

healthy vegan oatmeal chocolate chip cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil + 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce (or pureed apple)
  • 1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup dark or semi-sweet chocolate chips

Bake at 350˚F for 10-15 minutes

Makes 16-18 cookies

  1. In a small bowl, mix together 1 cup rolled oats, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon baking powder, 1/4 teaspoon baking soda and 1/2 teaspoon salt.
  2. In a bigger bowl, mix together 1/4 cup tahini, 2 tablespoons olive oil, 1 tablespoon vegetable oil, 1/4 cup honey, 1/4 cup pureed apple and 1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract.
  3. Add the oat mixture to the tahini mixture and stir just until everything comes together.
  4. Mix in 1/3 cup chopped walnuts and 1/2 cup chocolate chips into the batter.
  5. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Scoop out even amounts of batter onto the baking sheet. I used an ice-cream scoop to do this, but you can use a tablespoon or just your hands. Flatten each ball of batter down a smidge.
  6. Bake at 350˚F for 10-15 minutes, depending on your oven.
  7. Remove cookies from baking sheet onto a cool surface.

Keep fresh in a tightly closed container.

healthy vegan oatmeal chocolate chip cookies

healthy vegan oatmeal chocolate chip cookies

10 responses to “Healthy Vegan Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Tahini – wow! Must try these!! Thankfully they sound healthy enough for having even after all that holiday food ;-)

Leave a comment